Having a car involves a lot of payments such as fuel, maintenance, insurance and registration fees. There’s always a way to save money, maybe getting an affordable auto insurance or paying your renewal registration on time. Do you know how much is DMV car registration late fees?
How much is DMV car registration fee?
Your registration fees will change every year. That’s because the amount you need to pay will depend on your car: year model, vehicle weight and the value of your car.
Moreover, when your vehicle is registered for on-highway use, you will pay for some fees:
California Highway Patrol (CHP) fee
Vehicle license fee
Transportation improvement fee
Off highway vehicles are quad bikes, dune buggies, tractors, cranes, combine harvesters and usually all those vehicles used for construction or agriculture.
Additionally, there are other causes can change the price of your vehicle registration fees:
If you have unpaid parking tickets
Your vehicle requires smog check
Have personalized plates
Plate fees on the state you are living
The department of motor vehicles of California will contemplate all the information above to determine how much is DMV car registration fee. But the amount can increase if you don’t pay on schedule.
Late registration penalties for renewal in California
Since the first day after your expiration date, you will find a fee of $10 for your registration, a $10 fee for California Highway Patrol, plus 10% of your vehicle license fee and 10% of the weight fee (if applicable). And this amount of fees can increase:
When pay 11-30 days later:
You will pay 15 for your registration, a $15 fee for California Highway Patrol, plus 20% of your vehicle license fee and 20% of the weight fee (if applicable).
When pay 31 days to one year later:
You will pay an extra $30 for your registration, a $30 fee for California Highway Patrol, plus 60% of your vehicle license fee and 60% of the weight fee (if applicable).
When pay one or two years later:
You will pay an extra $50 for your registration, a $50 fee for California Highway Patrol, plus 80% of your vehicle license fee and 80% of the weight fee (if applicable).
When pay more than two years later:
You will pay an additional amount of $100 for your registration, a $100 fee for California Highway Patrol, plus 160% of your vehicle license fee and 160% of the weight fee (if applicable).
Penalties for new vehicles or vehicles never registered in California
One year late: 40% of the vehicle license fee due and 40% of the weight fee due (if applicable)
More than one year from two years: 80% of the vehicle license fee due and 80% of the weight fee due (if applicable)
More than two years: 160% of the vehicle license fee due and 160% of the weight fee due (if applicable).
Penalties for driving with expired registration
How much is DMV car registration late fees? Yes, this can turn expensive but is not the only thing you should worry about. Not paying your registration on time and driving with an expired registration can result in expensive penalties.
Vehicles registration expired less than six months ago.
Driving with expired tags in California can lead to a ticket of $25 for expired tags fee and a penalty of 4 to 5 times the fee. And not only while driving, you can get a ticket even if your car is parked on public streets
Penalties may vary depending on the officer, you can even be sent to court for your expired tags. If you refuse to go to court, you can get compounded fees and a license suspension.
Vehicles registration expired more than six months ago.
If your registration expired more than six months ago, your car can be impounded. Then you will have to pay all fines related to impound in order to release your car.
Lost or stolen tags.
Let’s think you paid your registration renewal, but you lost your tags, you still can get a ticket for not having tags shown.
You can just fill a report for lost or stolen tags to get a replacement tag with the DMV. But you need to pay a fee for the tag replacement. While getting your registration renewal with No DMV Lines, you can count on a free tag replacement when needed.
Why renew my registration with No Lines DMV
How does it cost more to pay car registration at DMV? When your expiration date is close, and you don’t have time to renew your plates at the DMV offices you may end up paying more for late fees or penalties.
However, with our fast service and shipping, you can avoid penalties. You don’t only save time, but get tons of benefits:
Free replacement tag. With No DMV Lines, you have a free replacement tag in case it gets lost or stolen.
Shipping. Send your registration tag as fast as possible is our mission. It doesn’t matter if you are in another state, you can get them in 3-5 days or even the next day with express shipping if you need.
Discounts. You can get discounts on our online DMV services and auto insurance!
Assistance. We will assist you in the whole process, whenever you need help with your registration, such as your smog check or getting an auto insurance.
If you want to know how much is the DMV car registration fee for your vehicle and the requirements you will need, just make a free quote with No DMV Lines or fill this form. We are always ready to assist you.
Renew Your License Plates With Us!
Faster than the DMV and more benefits